Syverson celebrates 15th anniversary of Cheap Trick Day in Illinois  

SPRINGFIELD – State Sen. Dave Syverson (R-Cherry Valley) took a moment on the Senate floor in the Illinois Capitol April 1 to celebrate the 15th anniversary of Cheap Trick Day in Illinois.

Cheap Trick is an American rock band formed in Rockford in 1973 by guitarist Rick Nielsen, bassist Tom Petersson, lead vocalist Randy Hogan and drummer Bun E. Carlos. The current band lineup includes frontman Robin Zander, Rick Nielsen, Daxx Nielsen and Petersson.

“On April 1, 2007, I had the honor to sponsor and pass the resolution creating Cheap Trick Day to be honored every April 1st in Illinois,” Syverson said. “Cheap Trick has had a huge impact on music for nearly 50 years, and the band is still entertaining sold-out venues around the world. We are proud of all they have accomplished and the fact that they still call Illinois home.”

Since the creation of Cheap Trick Day in Illinois, Cheap Trick has gone on to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2016, released three more albums, and are still touring around the world.

Dave Syverson

Want to stay up to date with your Senator?

Sign up for the District E-Newsletter below: